TMC Nominates Luizinho Faleiro As A Candidate For Rajya Sabha Polls

Kolkata : Trinmool Congress on Saturday announced their candidate nomination for Rajya Sabha Polls. They have nominated its vice president and ex-cm of Goa, Luizinho Faleiro as a candidate for Rajya Sabha Polls.

Faleiro, the former chief minister of Goa, had quit the Congress and joined the TMC in September.

“We are extremely pleased to nominate @luizinhofaleiro to the Upper House of the Parliament. We are confident that his efforts towards serving the nation shall be appreciated widely by our people!” the TMC said on Twitter.

The RS bypoll is scheduled to be held on November 29.

Former Goa Chief Minister Luizinho Faleiro had resigned from the state assembly membership and Congress. In his resignation letter to Congress interim president Sonia Gandhi, he wrote that “Given the present situation, I do not see any future for the party.”

He in one of the tweets also criticised BJP, “Today my Goa is bleeding & suffering due to BJP administration. I want to bring a NEW DAWN to Goa & start a new movement in the state. And I appeal to all Goans to join me. GOA NEEDS A CREDIBLE ALTERNATIVE.”

He has joined TMC. Before joining he had stated, “We need such fighters which are in the same party ideology, policies, principles and programmes. I would like the larger picture all Congress parties to come together to fight the BJP.”

This is second prominent faithlessness to the Trinamool after Sushmita Deb’s crossover. Deb has been given a big role in Tripura ahead of elections next year. Faleiro is in support of TMC in Goa where Congress is weakening and Aam Aadmi Party was campaigning aggressively.

Faleiro was the Congress’s in-charge of Tripura for the 2019 national election and could also help the Trinamool in the northeastern state where it is looking to expand its footprint and take on the ruling BJP.

Senior Trinamool Congress leaders Derek O Brien and Prasun Banerjee are in talks with Faleiro at Goa. Goa will be witnessing elections next year along with Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Punjab, and other states.

Dear Readers,
As an independent media platform, we do not take advertisements from governments and corporate houses. It is you, our readers, who have supported us on our journey to do honest and unbiased journalism. Please contribute, so that we can continue to do the same in future.

Related posts