HW English
Sri lanka

AIADMK hints it may not back no-confidence motion against the government

Tamil Nadu’s ruling AIADMK will support the government in the no-confidence motion against the government that will be taken up shortly in parliament. The party sources said that they will issue a whip to its 37 lawmakers to vote for the government.

“You should understand. They (TDP) have moved the no-confidence motion for a problem concerning Andhra Pradesh. When AIADMK MPs from Tamil Nadu stalled Parliament (during the previous session), who did voice (support) for us, who came forward to solve the problems of Cauvery delta farmers,” he asked. “Which state came forward. No state did,” he told reporters in Salem in response to a query whether the AIADMK will support the motion.

The south party, which had been vacillating over its support, agreed to support the BJP after party chief Amit Shah called its leaders yesterday. Sources said Mr Shah had convinced AIADMK — which was inclined towards abstaining from voting, to vote for the government.

The AIADMK has 37 MPs in Lok Sabha, making it the third-largest party after the ruling BJP and opposition Congress. The BJP and PMK have one MP each from Tamil Nadu, which has a total of 39 parliamentary constituencies.

The BJP and its allies have between them 314 votes. Addition of the AIADMK seats will push their numbers to 351. The ruling combine has been trying to show a two-thirds majority in the voting that’s expected to be an indicator of the battle lines for next year’s general elections.

Related posts

BJP is a one-man show, two-man army: Tarik Anwar

News Desk

BJP govt has taken over all premier institutions: Mamata Banerjee


‘BJP goons’ damaged Vidyasagar’s statue, will submit video proof to EC: TMC