HW English
West Bengal, Mamata Banerjee, nandigram

Battle For Bengal: Mamata Banerjee To Contest From Nandigram, Announces Candidates For 291 Seats

Mamata Banerjee surprised everyone by fielding Shobhan Dev Chatterjee from her traditional seat Bhawanipore and deciding to contest from Nandigram.


West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee has announced the list of 291 TMC candidates in West Bengal. CM Mamata Banerjee herself has decided to contest from Nandigram. Banerjee said that TMC will not field its candidates in three seats in North Bengal. There are 50 women and 42 Muslim candidates among these candidates. Apart from this, 79 candidates from the Dalit community have been given a chance. With this, Mamata Banerjee has announced that she will not contest from Bhawanipore.

The BJP earlier targeted her saying that she will contest from Two seats in the hope to retain at least one seat. Instead, Banerjee surprised everyone by fielding Shobhan Dev Chatterjee from her traditional seat Bhawanipore.

Mamata Banerjee said that three seats are left for allies in Darjeeling. She informed that TMC has not given tickets to 28 sitting MLAs this time. Announcing the candidates, Mamata Banerjee targeted the BJP fiercely. Apart from this, lashing out at the Congress and the Left parties, Banerjee said that they are contesting elections shoulder to shoulder with the BJP.

Key Candidates and Constituencies:

TMC has fielded Idris Ali from the Murshidabad assembly seat. Apart from this, the opportunity has been given to Sayoni Ghosh from Asansol South, Ratna Chatterjee from Behala Purab, Becharam Channa from Singur, Omprakash Mishra from Siliguri. Cricketer Manoj Tiwary has been fielded from Howrah’s Shibpur seat. Raj Chakraborty from Barrackpore, Sidikullah Chaudhary from Manteshwar, Jun Mallaiya from Medinipur, Aditi Munshi from Rajarhat have been given the opportunity. Apart from this, tickets have been given to Soham from Chandipur, Chandrima Bhattacharya from North Dum Dum, Madan Mitra from Kamarhatti, Minister Shashi Panja from Shyampukur and Sujit Bose from Vidhan Nagar.

CM will file nominate from Nandigram on the 10th:

Mamata Banerjee also said that she will file her nomination in Nandigram on the 10th and will participate in the election programs there on the 11th. The TMC chief said that they are struggling to maintain the identity of West Bengal.

Related posts

It’s strength of Babasaheb’s Constitution that a chaiwala is PM: Modi


Striking junior doctors hurled abuses at me at hospital: Mamata Banerjee


Mayawati’s decision to go alone in MP will not impact Congress’ prospects: Rahul