HW English

BJP MP Virendra Kumar takes oath as Protem Speaker of 17th Lok Sabha

New Delhi |  BJP MP from Madhya Pradesh’s Tikamgarh Constituency Virendra Kumar today took oath as the Protem speaker on the new 17th Lok Sabha.

Kumar took oath as the Protem at the Rashtrapati Bhavan ahead of the beginning of the 17th Lok Sabha’s first session today. Virendra Kumar a 7 time MP from Madhya Pradesh – 4 times from Sagar constituency and 3 times from Tikamgarh constituency. In the previous Narendra Modi cabinet, Kumar was the Minister of State for Minority Affairs and Minister of State for Women and Child Development.

A Pro-tem Speaker is a temporary speaker appointed for a limited period of time to conduct the works in Lok Sabha. The Protem speaker is the senior most member of the house who conducts the proceedings of the house until the speaker and deputy speaker of not appointed.

The  Pro-tem Speaker administers the oath of office to new members of the house. After the appointment of the new Speaker, the office of the pro tem speaker comes to end.

Related posts

Will give a slot for trust vote whenever CM requires: Karnataka Speaker


Election Commision to hear final argumment on disqualification of 20 AAP MLA’s on July 23

News Desk

Maharashtra businessman secured Rs 5400 crore loans in name of farmers: Dhananjay Munde