HW English
HD Kumaraswamy

Breaking: All Karnataka Congress ministers resign

Bengaluru | Amid the resignation saga in Karnataka, all Congress Ministers have resigned from the HD Kumaraswamy led Congress-JDS cabinet in the state.

The development has come in order to offer the rebel MLAs ministerial position in the HD Kumaraswamy cabinet who have already submitted their resignation to the Karnataka Assembly speaker.

Earlier¬†Karnataka Independent MLA Nagesh resigned as a minister. Submitting his resignation to Governor Vajubhai Vala in a letter stated, “I’ve already withdrawn my support to govt headed by HD Kumaraswamy. I would extend my support to the Government of BJP if called for by your good self.”

BJP meanwhile has asked for the resignation of Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy claiming that he has lost the majority.¬†BJP leader Shobha Karandlaje speaking to reporters outside former Chief Minister BS Yeddyurappa’s residence said,” Karnataka CM HD Kumaraswamy should resign immediately. He has lost the majority. Congress MLAs have already resigned. He should make way for another government.”

The resignation of 13 MLAs has plunged the government into a crisis. Twelve legislators –nine from the Congress and three from the JD(S) — resigned on Saturday.

The JD(S)-Congress coalition’s total strength in the state assembly, including those who have put in their papers, is 118 –Congress 78, JD(S) 37, BSP one and two Independents, besides the speaker.

The BJP has 105 MLAs in the House, where the half-way mark is 113. If the resignations are accepted, the coalition’s tally will come down to 105. The speaker also has a vote.



Related posts

Kumaraswamy ministry to be expanded, reshuffled today


Attempts being made to incite Maratha community before polls: Chandrakant Patil


Glad key people shedding fear, breaking silence on govt decisions: P Chidambaram