HW English

Congress MLA Ramesh Kumar unanimously elected as Speaker

Congress legislator Ramesh Kumar was unanimously elected as Speaker of Karnataka Assembly ahead of the trust vote. BJP’s Suresh Kumar withdrew his nomination after consultation with the BJP legislative committee.

BS Yeddyurappa withdrew the nomination of BJP candidate as he wanted the election to be unanimous in order to ”maintain the dignity of the Speaker’s post”.

Six-time MLA from Srinivaspur, Kolar Ramesh Kumar had served as Speaker during the H.D.Deve Gowda and J.H. Patel governments in the State (1994-99).   The Congress candidate KR Ramesh Kumar defeated GK Venkatashivareddy of JD(S) by a margin 10,552 votes in the recently concluded assembly election.

Though the BJP has 104 MLAs, the party decided to give a tough fight to the Congress-JDS nominee six-time MLA KR Ramesh Kumar. The Congress-JDS alliance with the support of two independent MLAs have 117 seats in the house.

On May 23, Kumaraswamy was sworn-in as the 24th chief minister of Karnataka, marking the beginning of the JD(S)-Congress alliance in the state. Unhappy with the sequence of events, the BJP observed the day as `Anti-People`s Mandate Day` in the state on the same date.

Related posts

Bihar Encephalitis: Lychee or Govt Apathy, who is responsible?

Arti Ghargi

BJP acting with vengeance against Mamata Banerjee: Chandrababu Naidu


Trust between govt, business community eroded: Manmohan Singh