HW English

Karnataka CM Yediyurappa inducts 17 MLAs as cabinet ministers

Bengaluru | Three weeks after Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa was sworn-in as the Chief Minister of Karnataka, he has finally announced 17 members which will be given ministerial berths.

He was sworn-in as a climax of the weeks filled with high drama after the Congress-JD(S) coalition government had fallen out, leading to BJP regaining power in the state and Yediyurappa being declared as the CM.

The Chief Minister proposed the names of 17 MLAs including KS Eshwarappa, Jagdish Shettar, CT Ravi and Basavaraj Bommai to Governor Vajubhai Vala on Monday.

V Somanna, C T Ravi, Basavaraj Bommai, Kota Shrinivas Poojari, J C Madhu Seamy, C C Patil, H Nagesh, Prabhu Chauhan and Shashikala Jolle Annasaheb are the other names on the list.

“Within two-three hours, I am going to get the final list from Amit bhai (BJP president Amit Shah). So, cabinet expansion will be done tomorrow,” Mr Yediyurappa told reporters on Monday.

The opposition has been fairly verbal in criticising Yediyurappa for a delay in the expansion.

The chief minister has sent an official list of 17 ministers to be inducted into the cabinet to the governor, requesting him to administer the oath to them.

Yediyurappa had been running a “one-man government” up until now due to a situation of heavy floods which lead to a massive death toll. The Congress had claimed that Yediyurappa’s one-man cabinet administration “resembled the President’s rule”.

Related posts

Venkaiah Naidu calls for a consensus on next Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman


Rajasthan govt appoints SIT for Pehlu Khan lynching case

News Desk

Don’t use visit to ailing person to feed political opportunism: Parrikar to Rahul