HW English

Modi Cabinet 2.0: Does it hold surprises?

After registering an avalanche victory in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections winning 353 seats, Prime Minister Narendra Modi along with his cabinet ministers will be taking the oath of office and secrecy in the Rashtrapati Bhavan premise today at around 7.30 pm.

The list of leaders who would be appointed as ministers who would be a part of the Narendra Modi dream team in the 2nd term of his tenure is yet to be announced. However, many names have emerged who will be holding key ministries in the Modi cabinet. Here is the list of ministers likely to be a part of Modi cabinet 2.0

Amit Shah: Amit Shah is the man responsible for BJP’s landmark victory in the 2014 and 2019 Lok Sabha elections. The duo of Amit Shah and Narendra Modi have led BJP victorious in almost every assembly elections including BJP’s emergence in the Northeast. Amit Shah who was a Rajya Sabha member before the 2019 election, replaced veteran BJP leader L.K Advani and won the Gandhi Nagar seat. Shah is most likely to hold the Ministry of Home Affairs or Finance Ministry.

Amit Shah; incharges BJP


Nitin Gadkari: Former President of the BJP, Gadkari won the 2019 Lok Sabha election from the Nagpur Lok Sabha constituency. In the first Modi cabinet, Gadkari handled the Minister for Road Transport & Highways, Shipping and Water Resources, River Development & Ganga Rejuvenation. Under Gadkari, the construction of Highways took pace in India reaching the foremost corner of India in the NorthEast.

Nitin Gadkari


Piyush Goyal: Goyal, a Rajya Sabha MP from Maharashtra was the Minister of Power (Independent Charge), Minister of Coal (Independent Charge), Minister of Railways in the Modi cabinet. In absence of Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley Goyal was temporarily given additional charge of Ministry of Finance. He also presented the 2019 Interim-Union budget in the Lok Sabha.  Goyal was one of the best-performing ministers in the Modi cabinet responsible for the government’s mission to provide 24X7 reliable electricity to all households and pushed towards the adoption of clean energy.

Piyush Goyal

Sushma Swaraj:  Sushma Swaraj was one of the key ministers in the first Modi cabinet. She handled the External Affairs Ministry and was called India’s ‘best-loved politician’ by the US daily Wall Street Journal. Swaraj, India’s only 2nd women External Minister after Indira Gandhi is responsible for implementing the foreign policy of Narendra Modi.

Sushma Swaraj India


Rajnath Singh: PM Modi’s second-in-command in the first cabinet, Rajanth Singh, won the 2019 Lok Sabha election from the Lucknow constituency. Former president of the BJP, Singh handled the Ministry of Home Affairs in the Modi cabinet.

Rajnath Singh

Nirmala Sitharaman: Sitharaman is a Rajya Sabha MP from Karnataka. In the first Modi cabinet, Sitharaman handled the Ministry of Commerce and Industry along with the Ministry of Defence. After Indira Gandhi, she became only the second woman to be appointed as the Defence Minister in India.



Smriti Irani:  Apart from BJP’s victory in the 2019 Lok Sabha polls, one of the most remarkable incidents of this polls was BJP leader Smriti Irani defeating Congress President Rahul Gandhi. This victory has assured Irani a place in the Modi cabinet. Irani earlier, the then Rajya Sabha handled Minster of Human Resources Development, Ministry of Information and Broadcasting and Ministry of Textile.


Ravi Shankar Prasad: Ravi Shankar Prasad, an old guard of the BJP since its initial days, defeated former BJP leader Shatrughan Sinha in the 2019 Lok Sabha Polls from Bihar’s Patna Sahib. Earlier a Rajya Sabha MP from Bihar, Prasad handled Ministry of Communications, Ministry of Law and Justice and Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology in the first Modi Cabinet.

Prakash Javadekar: Javadekar, a Rajya Sabha MP from Madhya Pradesh was appointed as the State (Independent Charge) for Environment, Forests and Climate Change in the Modi cabinet along with Minister of Human Resource Development.

Prakash Javadekar


Harsimrat Kaur Badal: BJP Punjab ally Shiromani Akali Dal’s MP Harsimrat Kaur Badal will be retaining her post in the Modi Cabinet. A three-time MP from Punjab’s Bhatinda, Badal in the first Modi cabinet handled the Ministry of Food Processing Industries.

1984 anti Sikh riots


Arvind Sawant:  Shiv Sena MP from South Mumbai, Arvind Sawant, is also likely to be a Minister in the Modi cabinet. Sawant defeated Congress leader and Mumbai Congress chief Milind Deora for the second time from the same constituency. Sawant’s chances of becoming the minister emerged after the defeat of Anant Geethe, a minister in the first Modi cabinet in the 2019 Lok Sabha polls from Raigad Constituency.


Along with all these, other leaders who are likely to be ministers in the Modi cabinet are Sadanand Gowda, Giraraj Singh, Ramdas Athawale, Ram Vilas Paswan, Arjun Meghwal, Jitendra Singh, Babul Supriyo, Rao Inderjit Singh and Dharmendra Pradhan.

Related posts

P Chidambaram Welcomes Govt Decision To Start Passenger Trains

Issues of J&K Bank’s accountability, transparency must be addressed: Tarigami


UP CMO fined for not providing information under RTI