HW English
Naveen Patnaik

Naveen Patnaik takes oath as Odisha Chief Minister for the fifth time

Bhubaneswar | Biju Janata Dal president Naveen Patnaik on Wednesday took oath as the Chief Minister of Odisha for a fifth consecutive term.

Patnaik was administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor Ganeshi Lal in a grand ceremony at the Idco Exhibition Ground here.

The BJD, which won 112 seats in the 147-member Assembly in the recently concluded elections, held simultaneously with the Lok Sabha polls, has been in power in Odisha since 2000.

It is the first time Patnaik has taken oath in an open public ground. In 2000, 2004, 2009 and 2014, he was sworn in at the Raj Bhavan.

Apart from chief minister’s elder brother and businessman Prem Patnaik, sister and noted writer Gita Mehta, around 7,000 dignitaries including captains of industries attended the swearing-in ceremony.

A large number of BJD supporters and women grass root leaders attended the function.

Also Read: Naveen Patnaik government to have 21 ministers, 10 new faces

Related posts

23-year-old man lying on Delhi road who was asked to sing national anthem, Dies

News Desk

INX Media LIVE updates: ED cannot arrest P Chidambaram till Monday

News Desk

Shah Faesel launches crowdfunding campaign for ‘clean politics’ in Kashmir