HW English

Headlines: Mamata Banerjee Announces List of 291 Candidates, To Contest From Nandigram

West Bengal chief minister Mamata Banerjee announced on Friday the list of 291 candidates of the Trinamool Congress for the upcoming assembly elections, making official her decision to contest the high-profile Nandigram seat that shot to limelight following violence linked to an agitation against land acquisition by the then Left government in 2007.
She also said she would not contest her traditional seat in south Kolkata’s Bhabanipur, which will go to “my friend and colleague Sovandeb Chattopadhyay”. Banerjee has held that seat since 2011, the year her party brought an end to a 34-year Left rule, propelled primarily by land agitations in Hooghly’s Singur and East Midnapore’s Nandigram.

#Nandigram #WestBengal #MamataBanerjee

Related posts

Headlines: Prashant Bhushan Regrets “Error” In Tweet Against CJI Bobde In October

News Desk

Headlines: Income Tax department issues notice to EC Ashok Lavasa’s wife

Anusha Bhattacharya

Headlines: Rahul Gandhi and 11 opposition leaders to visit Kashmir; Govt may send them back

Anusha Bhattacharya