8 Suspended Opposition Rajya Sabha MPs Refuse To Leave House, Protest Outside The Parliament

Rajya Sabha suspended MPs.jpg

Rajya Sabha chairman Venkaiah Naidu adjourned the meeting. However, the suspended MPs refused to leave after the resumption of business.

New Delhi| For the second consecutive day, Rajya Sabha witnessed a stalled house as opposition MPs created a ruckus on Monday. The session witnessed stormy affairs on Sunday and Monday as the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party tried to get the contentious Farm bills passed through Rajya Sabha. Rajya Sabha chairman Venkaiah Naidu today suspended eight opposition MPs for the rest of the session. The MPs suspended are Derek O’Brien, Sanjay Singh, Ripun Bora, Nazir Hussain, KK Ragesh, A Karim, Rajiv Satav and Dola Sen. At the same time, the Speaker rejected the motion of confidence brought by the Opposition MPs against the Deputy Chairman citing the rules.

Even after the action of the Speaker, the suspended MPs refused to leave the House and the uproar continued. After the four-time adjournment, the presence of suspended opposition members in the house created a furore and the Rajya Sabha was adjourned for a full day after some time.

The uproar continued in the House during this period and the government moved a motion to suspend eight opposition members for the remainder of the current session, which was accepted by the House by voice.

Also Read: VP Naidu Rejects Opposition’s “No-Confidence” Motion Against Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman Harivansh Singh

The Chairman adjourned the meeting till 10 o’clock after around 40 minutes into the daily proceedings. However, the suspended MPs refused to leave after the resumption of business. Deputy Speaker Harivansh Singh asked the suspended members to leave the house, but they did not pay heed. Amid the uproar, Education Minister Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank’ introduced the Indian Institute of Information Technology Laws (Amendment) Bill, 2020 for discussion.

As the house did not stop the commotion, Deputy Chairman Harivansh adjourned the meeting for half an hour. The ruckus in the House continued even after the two-time adjournment. The house was adjourned third time soon after at 11.30 pm. Even after the meeting resumed at 12 noon, the ruckus of the opposition members continued in the House, then the proceedings of the Rajya Sabha were adjourned for the whole day.

Next Story
Share it
To Top