HD Kumaraswamy to take oath as Karnataka CM today

Bengaluru: Janta Dal Secular Chief HD Kumaraswamy is set to take oath as the new Chief Minister of Karnataka today at 4.30 pm in Vidhan Sabha.

Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee (KPCC) President G. Parameshwara will also take oath as the Deputy Chief Minister along with Kumaraswamy. Governor Vajubhai Vala will administer the oath of office and oath of secrecy to the Chief Minister Designate as well as the ministers.

Earlier on Tuesday Congress and JD(S) met to discuss the portfolio sharing between the alliance, and decided that 22 out of 34 ministries would be helmed by the Congress and 12 ministries including the Chief Minister would go with the JD(S).

Congress’ KR Ramesh Kumar will be appointed as the Speaker of Karnataka’s Vidhana Soudha, while the deputy speaker will be from the JD(S).

The oath ceremony will include leaders from the major opposition parties around the country. United Progressive Alliance (UPA) chairperson Sonia Gandhi, Congress president Rahul Gandhi, Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) chief Mayawati, West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N. Chandrababu Naidu, CPI (M) General Secretary Sitaram Yechury, and Makkal Needhi Maiam chief Kamal Haasan are among the confirmed attendee of the event.

Dear Readers,
As an independent media platform, we do not take advertisements from governments and corporate houses. It is you, our readers, who have supported us on our journey to do honest and unbiased journalism. Please contribute, so that we can continue to do the same in future.

Related posts