HW English
Election 2019 Politics

YS Jaganmohan Reddy takes oath as the new Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh

Vijayawada | YSR Congress Chief YS Jaganmohan Reddy has taken oath at 12:23 PM in Vijayawada as the new Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh.

YSR Congress had defeated TDP in the Andhra Pradesh assembly by 151 seats of the total 175 seats, gaining a full majority. They won 22 out of 25 total Lok Sabha seats in Andhra Pradesh.

AP governor ESL Narasimhan administered the oath of office and secrecy to CM-designate Jagan Reddy.

Reddy will address the crowd to talk about the new welfare schemes in the state being introduced by his government.

Jaganmohan Reddy had met Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Sunday. Reports claim he will ask for a special status for the state.

Telangana CM K Chandrashekhar Rao is present at the ceremony, along with DMK Chief MK Stalin.

Reddy’s predecessor, Chandrababu Naidu, did not attend the event.

Jaganmohan Reddy is expected at the swearing-in of PM Modi in New Delhi today. He will reportedly fly after the ceremony to Delhi.

Also Read: Prime Minister Modi swearing-in ceremony: LIVE updates

Related posts

PDP-BJP breakup: a throwback to events that rocked the alliance boat

Arti Ghargi

Akshay Kumar to contest on BJP ticket from Punjab’s Gurdaspur?

News Desk

Sonowal meets Shah, Rajnath, discusses Assam situation