HW English
National Politics

Rajya Sabha VP Venkaiah Naidu Suspends 8 Opposition MPs After Sunday’s Ruckus

The agitated opposition MPs created a ruckus in Rajya Sabha on Sunday against the passing of farmer bills. 


New Delhi| Rajya Sabha Speaker Venkaiah Naidu on Monday suspended 8 opposition MPs from the proceedings of the House for a week. The decision came after a dramatic scene unfolded in Rajya Sabha on Sunday while two contentious bills related to agriculture were passed in the House. Naidu termed the incident as a ‘bad day’ and said that opposition MPs had no right to abuse Vice Chairman Harivansh Singh like this. During the discussion on Sunday, opposition MPs shouted slogans in the well, some also snatched the vice-chairman’s mic. Trinamool Congress MP Derek O’Brien tore the rule book of the House.

Record in Lok Sabha

Another record was made on Sunday in the parliament. The debate on important matters related to public interest in the Lok Sabha (Matters of Urgent Public Importance) or Zero Hour lasted till midnight for the first time. Many MPs and officials from the Lok Sabha Secretariat said that this happened for the first time after the Lok Sabha was formed on 17 April 1952.

The Lok Sabha proceedings began at 3 pm on Sunday. After Question Hour, Zero Hour started at 10.30 pm, which lasted till 12.34 pm. In Zero Hour, MPs do not have to pre-empt questions for debate.

Bill passed … but Parliament failed

The agitated opposition MPs created a ruckus in Rajya Sabha on Sunday against the passing of farmer bills. An uproar ensued over extending the working time of House by speaker. Some opposition MPs  came out in the well. After the completion of the reply of Agriculture Minister Narendra Singh Tomar, when the process of passing of the bill started, the opposition demanded a physical voting.

The opposition MPs said in a resolution to bring no-confidence motion against the deputy chairman of Rajya Sabha, “When the agitated members, on being denied the right for a division on this crucial bill protested strongly pointing out how gravely the bill is against the farmer’s interest, the Deputy Chairperson packed the house with security personnel deliberately designed to overawe and outnumber the members of the opposition.”

Reportedly, when Deputy Speaker Harivansh rejected the demand for physical vote, Trinamool MP Derek O’Brien tore the rulebook of the House and tried to break the Deputy Speaker’s mic. Congress MP Ripun Bora, AAP MP Sanjay Singh and DMK MP Tiruchi Siva were also seen trying to break the mic. Due to this, marshals were called and the proceedings of the house stayed for 15 minutes.

When the proceedings started again, there was a ruckus, then the speaker passed the bill by voice. There was also a meeting at the residence of Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu regarding the uproar in the Rajya Sabha. On the other hand, 12 opposition parties have moved a no-confidence motion against the Deputy Chairman, which is signed by 100 people. In the evening, six big ministers including Defense Minister Rajnath held a press conference and said that what happened in Rajya Sabha was shameful.

The no-confidence motion, however, has been rejected by Naidu.

Related posts

IAF’s Jaguar crashes, pilot safe


Till Modi is here, nobody can touch reservations given to us by Dr Ambedkar


Swaraj expresses India’s willingness to contribute towards enriching intra-BRICS cooperation